Canada · October 2026
Best balance transfer credit cards in Canada
Cards with a stated balance transfer offer or rate, ranked by the lowest stated balance transfer rate, then purchase rate. All amounts are in Canadian dollars.
34 balance transfer cards ranked
Fixed 12.90% interest on purchases and cash advances; no rewards.
- Annual fee
- $25 (Additional cardholder $0; first-year fee rebate with offer)
- Welcome offer
- 0% promotional interest on purchases for first 6 months plus first-year annual fee rebate
- Purchase rate
- 12.90%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Low-rate card with a variable rate of prime plus 4% (minimum 8.90%) on purchases and prime plus 8% (minimum 12.90%) on balance transfers and cash advances; no rewards.
- Annual fee
- $35 (Second authorized card $0)
- Purchase rate
- Prime + 4% (minimum 8.90%)
- Balance transfers
- Prime + 8% (minimum 12.90%)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
No-fee, low-rate (12.99%) Mastercard earning 2 points per $1 on the first $750 of monthly spend, 4 on the next $750 and 6 above $1,500, plus monthly bonus points.
Earn: base 2 pts · everyday 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0 ($0 monthly fee; $0 additional card)
- Welcome offer
- 10,000 points ($10 value) welcome offer
- Purchase rate
- 12.99%
- Balance transfers
- 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Premium card earning 10 points per $1 on the first $3,000 of monthly spend, up to 30 points per $1 at higher tiers, plus monthly bonus points.
Earn: base 10 pts · everyday 10 pts
- Welcome offer
- 150,000 points ($150 value) welcome offer
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earns 5 points per $1 on the first $1,500 of monthly spend, up to 15 points per $1 at higher monthly spend tiers, plus monthly bonus points.
Earn: base 5 pts · everyday 5 pts
- Welcome offer
- 50,000 points ($50 value) welcome offer
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Low-rate card with 13.99% purchase interest and 15.99% on cash advances; no rewards.
- Annual fee
- $29 (Rebated with BMO Performance chequing; first year waived with offer)
- Welcome offer
- 0% balance transfers for 18 months (3% fee) and first-year annual fee waived
- Purchase rate
- 13.99%
- Balance transfers
- 0% introductory rate on balance transfers for 18 months with 3% transfer fee; first-year $29 fee waived
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Low-interest card with no rewards: 13.99% on purchases and cash advances.
- Annual fee
- $29 (First year waived with offer; supplementary cards $0)
- Purchase rate
- 13.99%
- Balance transfers
- 13.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Low-interest card with no rewards: 13.99% on purchases and cash advances.
- Annual fee
- $29 (First year waived with offer; supplementary cards $0)
- Purchase rate
- 13.99%
- Balance transfers
- 13.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Lowest-rate MBNA card with a 10.99% purchase rate and $39 annual fee.
- Annual fee
- $39 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Purchase rate
- 10.99%
- Balance transfers
- 13.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Low fixed-rate card with no rewards; 12.99% on purchases and 14.99% on cash advances and balance transfers.
- Annual fee
- $20 (Annual fee waived first year with current offer (apply by Nov 4, 2026); additional card $0)
- Purchase rate
- 12.99%
- Balance transfers
- 14.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
No-fee low-interest card with a 12.99% purchase rate and a 0% promotional rate on balance transfers for 12 months.
- Annual fee
- $0 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Welcome offer
- 0% promotional annual interest rate for 12 months on balance transfers completed within 90 days of account opening
- Purchase rate
- 12.99%
- Balance transfers
- 17.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earn up to 1% cashback on gas, groceries and online purchases while supporting the Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation.
Earn: groceries 1% · gas 1%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Simple no-fee starter card with no rewards, aimed at building credit; minimum credit limit $500.
- Annual fee
- $0
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn up to 1% cashback on pre-authorized payments and restaurant purchases, with free mobile protection.
Earn: dining 1%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn up to 1.5% cashback on gas, groceries and online purchases.
Earn: groceries 1.5% · gas 1.5%
- Annual fee
- $30
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn up to 2 National Bank rewards points per dollar spent, with travel insurance for trips of 10 days or less and mobile device insurance.
Earn: travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $70 (Reimbursed first year; second authorized card $35)
- Welcome offer
- Up to 35,000 points: 10,000 with payment protection insurance, 10,000 at $2,500 net purchases in 3 months, 15,000 at $10,000 net purchases by first anniversary; first-year fee reimbursed. Valid until Nov 4, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn up to 2 National Bank rewards points per dollar spent.
Earn: travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $115 (Second authorized card $35)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn up to 5 National Bank rewards points per dollar spent with travel insurance, lounge access and extended warranty.
Earn: travel 5 pts
- Annual fee
- $150 (Second authorized card $50; up to $150 yearly travel-expense refund)
- Welcome offer
- Page references up to $900 travel savings or $800 to invest annually (French banner); no points bonus read
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 2% cash back in two categories you choose (a third if cash back is deposited to a Tangerine savings account) and 0.5% on everything else. Categories can be changed every 90 days.
Earn: base 0.5% · everyday 0.5%
- Annual fee
- $0 (Free cards for up to 5 authorized users)
- Welcome offer
- Earn 10% cash back for 2 months (up to $100) on top of regular cash back
- Purchase rate
- 20.95%
- Balance transfers
- 22.95%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 2% cash back in two categories you choose (third with a Tangerine savings account deposit) and 0.5% on everything else, with World Mastercard perks such as lounge access offers.
Earn: base 0.5% · everyday 0.5%
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Welcome offer
- Get $120 after spending $1,500 in the first 3 months
- Purchase rate
- 20.95%
- Balance transfers
- 22.95%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 1.5 Scene+ points per $1 in three categories you choose and 1 point per $1 on everything else. Includes lounge passes, travel insurances and Shell fuel savings.
Earn: base 1 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 ($30 per authorized user; up to 5 authorized users)
- Welcome offer
- 50,000 Scene+ points after $5,000 net purchases within 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 20.95%
- Balance transfers
- 22.95%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earns 2.5% back at Amazon.ca and Whole Foods Market for eligible Prime members (1.5% for non-Prime) and 1% everywhere else.
Earn: base 1% · everyday 1%
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Welcome offer
- 5% back at Amazon.ca, Whole Foods Market, grocery stores and restaurants for first 6 months on first $3,000
- Purchase rate
- 21.74%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 4 MBNA Rewards points per $1 on restaurant, grocery, digital media, membership and household utility purchases (first 90 days; 2 points thereafter) and 1 point on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 2 pts · dining 2 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Welcome offer
- 5,000 bonus points after $500 in eligible purchases within 90 days, plus 5,000 points for enrolling in paperless e-statements within 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
No-fee cash back card: 5% on gas and groceries for the first 6 months, then 2% (on up to $500 a month), and 0.5% on everything else.
Earn: base 0.5% · groceries 2% · gas 2% · everyday 0.5%
- Annual fee
- $0 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Welcome offer
- 5% cash back on gas and groceries for first 6 months (up to $500 monthly)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earns 2% cash back on all eligible purchases if you hold an eligible Rogers, Fido, Shaw or Comwave service, otherwise 1%; always 2% on U.S. dollar purchases. Cash back redeems at 1.5x on eligible Rogers purchases (until Nov 18, 2026).
Earn: base 1% · everyday 2%
- Annual fee
- $0 ($0 authorized users)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%-25.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%-27.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
No-fee card earning 3% cash back on U.S. dollar purchases and 2% on all other eligible purchases with an eligible Rogers service (1.5% without), plus travel insurance and lounge access via Mastercard Travel Pass.
Earn: base 1.5% · everyday 2%
- Annual fee
- $0 ($0 authorized users)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%-25.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%-27.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 2% cash back on all eligible purchases with an eligible Rogers, Fido, Shaw or Comwave service, otherwise 1%; 2% on U.S. dollar purchases.
Earn: base 1% · everyday 2%
- Annual fee
- $0 ($0 authorized users)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%-25.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%-27.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Cash back card with 5% on gas and groceries for the first 6 months, then 2% (up to $500 a month), and 1% on everything else.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 2% · gas 2% · everyday 1%
- Annual fee
- $39 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Welcome offer
- 5% cash back on gas and groceries for first 6 months (up to $500 monthly)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earn 2% cash back on groceries, food delivery, drugstores, gas, EV charging, transit, recurring bills and subscriptions, and 1% on everything else.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 2% · gas 2%
- Annual fee
- $49 (Supplementary cards $15)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 2% cash back on groceries, food delivery, drugstores, gas, EV charging, transit, recurring bills and subscriptions, and 1% on everything else.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 2% · gas 2%
- Annual fee
- $49 (Supplementary cards $15)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 5 points per $1 on restaurant, grocery, digital media, membership and household utility purchases and 1 point on everything else, with a birthday bonus and rental collision coverage.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 5 pts · dining 5 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 ($120 primary / $50 additional cardholder)
- Welcome offer
- 20,000 bonus points after $2,000 in eligible purchases within 90 days plus 10,000 points for enrolling in paperless e-statements (up to 30,000)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earn 4% cash back on groceries and recurring payments, 2% on gas, EV charging, transit and food delivery, and 1% on everything else.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 4% · gas 2%
- Annual fee
- $120 (First-year fee waived with offer; supplementary cards $50)
- Welcome offer
- 15% cash back on purchases for first 3 months (up to $2,000 spend); 0% on balance transfers for 12 months; no annual fee first year. Open account Jul 2 to Nov 1, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Metal premium card earning 2% cash back globally on all eligible purchases with an eligible Rogers service (1.5% without), with no foreign exchange fees, lounge passes and a broad insurance package.
Earn: base 1.5% · everyday 2%
- Annual fee
- $495 ($95 per authorized user)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%-25.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%-27.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- None
- #34
CIBC Select Visa Card CIBC
Low-interest card with no rewards; 0% on balance transfers for up to 10 months with 1% fee.
- Annual fee
- $29 (First-year fee rebated with offer)
- Welcome offer
- 0% balance transfer for up to 10 months (1% fee) and first-year annual fee rebate
- Balance transfers
- 0% interest for up to 10 months on balance transfers of $100+ with 1% transfer fee; first-year annual fee rebate
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.
How these cards are ranked
Rankings are by the numbers only: no issuer can pay to be listed, left out or ranked higher. For rewards cards we estimate net annual value in Canadian dollars: rewards earned on a reference household budget of $30,000 a year ($8,400 groceries, $3,600 dining, $2,400 gas, $3,600 travel, $12,000 everything else) at the earn rate the issuer states for each category, with points valued at the cents-per-point on our Canadian point values page, minus the annual fee. Welcome bonuses are shown separately and not counted. A card whose issuer page does not state an earn rate is not given a value. Every figure was read on the issuer’s own website; see our Canada methodology.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best balance transfer credit card in Canada?
By our ranking rule, TD Low Rate Visa Card from TD Canada Trust currently ranks first. The right card depends on your own spending, so check the issuer’s terms before applying.
How do you calculate the ranking?
By the lowest interest rate the issuer states on its own page, then by annual fee. Rates can be higher depending on your credit and province.
Are these cards available in Quebec?
Availability can differ by province. Each card page shows whether the issuer states that it is offered in Quebec; where the issuer does not say, we show “not stated”.
Do I need a minimum income?
Many rewards cards state a minimum personal or household income. Each card shows the figure the issuer states, or “not stated”.
More Canadian card guides
- All cards
- Cash back
- Travel
- No annual fee
- Low interest
- Student
- Secured & rebuild
- Business
- No FX fee
- Groceries
- Gas
- Affinity Rewards
- Collabria Flex Rewards
- Aeroplan
- Amex Membership Rewards (Canada)
- BMO Rewards
- CIBC Aventura
- Meridian Rewards
- RBC Avion Rewards
- Scene+
- Vancity Rewards
- Canadian point values
- Cards by issuer
- Cross-border cards & points

























