Canada · personal card · RBC Royal Bank
RBC Visa Classic Low Rate Option review
Low fixed-rate card with no rewards; 12.99% on purchases and 14.99% on cash advances and balance transfers.

Key facts
- Issuer
- RBC Royal Bank
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- $20 (Annual fee waived first year with current offer (apply by Nov 4, 2026); additional card $0)
- Purchase rate
- 12.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 14.99%
- Balance transfers
- 14.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Insurance
- Purchase Security and Extended Warranty
Perks
Partner offers: Petro-Canada, Triangle Rewards, DoorDash, Rexall
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on RBC Royal Bank’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: FX fee not on page. Cash advance rate includes balance transfers per page. Income minimum not stated. signup_bonus_end_date is the intro-offer apply-by date. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.rbcroyalbank.com/cards/cardapp/_assets-custom/pdf/classic_lr.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the RBC Visa Classic Low Rate Option?
$20 (Annual fee waived first year with current offer (apply by Nov 4, 2026); additional card $0), as read on RBC Royal Bank’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the RBC Visa Classic Low Rate Option?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the RBC Visa Classic Low Rate Option?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More RBC Royal Bank cards
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on travel purchases and 1 point per $1 on everything else; redeem on any airline at fixed-points pricing or 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $313
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on all purchases, with double redemption value on business and first-class tickets and 6 lounge passes per year.
Earn: base 1.25 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $399 (Additional card $99)
- Est. net value / yr
- $126
- Welcome offer
- Up to 100,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 45,000 anniversary bonus; plus 6 lounge passes. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn Avios: 3 per $1 on British Airways purchases, 2 per $1 on dining and food delivery, 1 per $1 on everything else; 10% off British Airways flights and a spend-based companion voucher.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 3 pts
- Annual fee
- $165 (Additional card $75)
- Est. net value / yr
- $591
- Welcome offer
- 50,000 bonus Avios when you spend $6,000 within first 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 20.50%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



