Canada · personal card · MBNA Canada
MBNA Smart Cash Platinum Plus Mastercard review
No-fee cash back card: 5% on gas and groceries for the first 6 months, then 2% (on up to $500 a month), and 0.5% on everything else.

Key facts
- Issuer
- MBNA Canada
- Network
- Mastercard
- Annual fee
- $0 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Welcome offer
- 5% cash back on gas and groceries for first 6 months (up to $500 monthly)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 22.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Est. net value / yr
- $312 ($312 rewards − $0 fee)
Rewards
No-fee cash back card: 5% on gas and groceries for the first 6 months, then 2% (on up to $500 a month), and 0.5% on everything else.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 0.5% · groceries 2% · gas 2% · everyday 0.5%. Gas and grocery earn limited to $500 monthly spend
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on MBNA Canada’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Rates and fees may vary by region (page region selector; Quebec may differ). Foreign exchange fee and income minimums not stated unless listed.
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the MBNA Smart Cash Platinum Plus Mastercard?
$0 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee), as read on MBNA Canada’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the MBNA Smart Cash Platinum Plus Mastercard?
The issuer’s page did not state a foreign currency conversion fee when we read it; check the cardholder agreement.
What income do I need for the MBNA Smart Cash Platinum Plus Mastercard?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More MBNA Canada cards
Earns 2.5% back at Amazon.ca and Whole Foods Market for eligible Prime members (1.5% for non-Prime) and 1% everywhere else.
Earn: base 1% · everyday 1%
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- 5% back at Amazon.ca, Whole Foods Market, grocery stores and restaurants for first 6 months on first $3,000
- Purchase rate
- 21.74%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 4 MBNA Rewards points per $1 on restaurant, grocery, digital media, membership and household utility purchases (first 90 days; 2 points thereafter) and 1 point on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 2 pts · dining 2 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Est. net value / yr
- $420
- Welcome offer
- 5,000 bonus points after $500 in eligible purchases within 90 days, plus 5,000 points for enrolling in paperless e-statements within 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earns 5 points per $1 on restaurant, grocery, digital media, membership and household utility purchases and 1 point on everything else, with a birthday bonus and rental collision coverage.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 5 pts · dining 5 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 ($120 primary / $50 additional cardholder)
- Est. net value / yr
- $660
- Welcome offer
- 20,000 bonus points after $2,000 in eligible purchases within 90 days plus 10,000 points for enrolling in paperless e-statements (up to 30,000)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Cash back card with 5% on gas and groceries for the first 6 months, then 2% (up to $500 a month), and 1% on everything else.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 2% · gas 2% · everyday 1%
- Annual fee
- $39 (Up to 9 authorized users with no additional fee)
- Est. net value / yr
- $369
- Welcome offer
- 5% cash back on gas and groceries for first 6 months (up to $500 monthly)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



