Credit Card Scoring Methodology
Every card’s overall score is a weighted average of four component scores, each on a 0–100 scale. All four come from publicly stated product terms: earn rates, annual fees, welcome bonuses, and statement credits.
+ (Welcome Bonus Score × w2)
+ (Annual Fee Score × w3)
+ (Credits Score × w4)
The weights depend on the card’s main type, because what matters most differs by type. For example:
Intro APR offers are scored separately and are not part of the composite score. The main 0% APR page and the purchase page rank cards by the length of the 0% period, up to 24 months. The balance transfer page also deducts for a higher transfer fee. Secured cards need a deposit, so we rank them on the credit-building pages, not the 0% pages.
A category score is the card’s estimated net yearly value in that category: rewards on a standard year of spending in the category, valued at the same point values as the composite score, minus the part of the annual fee that the card’s usable credits don’t cover. A net return of 6% of the category spending scores 100; a card whose rewards and usable credits don’t cover its fee scores low, or 0. Credits only offset the fee. They never add to a category score beyond it.
Premium cards. Cards with an annual fee of $350 or more (and cards sold as premium with a fee of $250 or more) compete in the regular rankings on the same net-value basis. On the travel, airline, hotel, dining and grocery pages they are also ranked among themselves by estimated yearly value after the fee: rewards on a $2,000/month spending profile plus usable credits, minus the annual fee.
The grocery, dining, gas, cash back, travel and airline pages have a Your Match panel. Enter what you spend each month and we run the rewards part of our formula on your numbers for every card on the page. Then we list the cards that return the most each year after the annual fee. We leave out welcome bonuses and statement credits, so the figure is what a card keeps paying you year after year. Your Match doesn’t change our scores or the page order, and partner status plays no part in it. We use your amounts only to rank the list and don’t store them. Your browser remembers them for you.
We convert welcome bonuses to a cash value using the point valuations we maintain in our database (see point values): 1¢ per point for cash back, about 1.5¢ for flexible currencies such as Chase Ultimate Rewards and Amex Membership Rewards, and less for most hotel programs.
The bonus score is the bonus’s percentile among all live cards with a welcome bonus: the largest bonus scores 100, and a card in the middle of the pack scores about 50. Cards without a current welcome bonus score 0 on this component.
Annual fee. In the composite score the fee is scored on its own (no fee = 100, the highest live fee = 0). In category scores and the premium ranking the fee is subtracted from the card’s value in dollars, after usable credits and perks. A category score charges only that category’s share of the remaining fee, in proportion to its share of a typical $12,000 a year on the card (airline 25%, travel 42%, groceries 50%, dining 30%, gas and hotels 20%; everyday and cash back 100%), because the fee pays for the whole card, not one category.
Usable credits. We list each card’s recurring yearly credits from the issuer’s site and count each at a share of its face value: broad travel credits and anniversary points at 100%; credits tied to a common kind of spending or that must be used monthly, quarterly, or twice a year (dining, rideshare, delivery, streaming, airline fees, the card’s own airline or hotel brand) at 50%; single-merchant, lifestyle, membership, and prepaid-hotel-collection credits at 25%. Free-night and companion certificates count at a fixed, conservative value. We don’t count Global Entry/TSA PreCheck credits, lounge access, elite status, insurance and protections, discounts, credits that need a spending threshold, one-time or first-year credits, or credits that end within the year. The total is capped and then discounted by 10% for credits that go unused.
Perks. Benefits that aren’t statement credits are counted at a typical yearly value and added to the card’s credits: airline club membership $300; lounge network (Priority Pass Select, Centurion, issuer lounges) $200; limited lounge visits $40 each (up to $200); free first checked bag $100 (first and second $130); companion certificate $250; free night certificate $150 (85k+ points or uncapped $300; $75 if it needs a spend threshold); top-tier hotel status $100, mid-tier $25; priority boarding $25; in-flight discount $10. Lounge benefits don’t stack; a card counts only its best one.
No-annual-fee cards start with an advantage on the fee, but a fee card whose rewards and usable credits more than cover the fee can still rank above them.
Source. We source all card terms (earn rates, annual fees, bonus amounts, intro APR periods) from issuer websites and official card terms pages. We do not use affiliate data feeds. Every product has a source URL on file.
Verification. Card data comes from our database, verified on each issuer’s site; dates shown. We recheck cards against their source pages on a rolling schedule, and rankings update whenever a card’s data changes. We flag changes to bonus offers, APR periods, and annual fees, and a human editor reviews them before we apply them to scores.
Point values. We review point and mile valuations quarterly and update them when redemption values shift materially. We use a conservative blended valuation, not the maximum theoretical value, to keep scores grounded in realistic outcomes.
Score recalculation. Scores recalculate automatically whenever any input changes. There is no fixed recalculation schedule. A score is always current as of the last data update for that product.
Approval odds. Credit score requirements and issuer approval criteria are not factored into the score. A card that requires excellent credit is not penalized. We score the product, not the likelihood of getting it.
Issuer reputation. Customer service ratings, app quality, and issuer track record are not in the composite score. We note these factors in card descriptions where they’re material, but they don’t affect rankings.
Spending caps. Category earn rate caps reduce the practical value of some cards significantly. Where a card states a grocery cap, spending above the cap is valued at the card’s base rate in both the rewards and the grocery score; other category caps are not yet modeled.
Rotating categories. Cards with quarterly rotating or choose-your-own bonus categories get a small, capped addition to their rewards score for the estimated yearly value of those bonus categories, rather than being scored as if the top rate applied all year.
Canadian credit cards (yourbestcards.com/ca/)
Separate data, separate rankings. Canadian cards live in their own database tables and are never mixed into the US rankings, scores or percentiles above. All Canadian amounts are in Canadian dollars.
Sources. We read every fee, earn rate, interest rate, income requirement, insurance package and welcome offer on the card issuer’s website, and each card page shows the date we read it. We do not use comparison sites. We show a field the issuer’s page does not state as “not stated”, not estimated.
Net annual value. Rewards cards are ranked by estimated net annual value: rewards earned on a fixed reference budget (groceries, dining, gas, travel and everything else, shown on each page) at the earn rate the issuer states for each category, times the value of one point, minus the annual fee. Cash back is valued at face value. Points are valued at the cents-per-point on our Canadian point values page, which gives the method and source for each program. Welcome bonuses are shown but not counted in the ranking. Interest-rate pages (low interest, balance transfer) rank by the lowest stated rate; secured cards by the lowest annual fee.
Independence. No issuer can pay for a listing, an exclusion or a higher ranking. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Rules and consumer protections for Canadian credit cards: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC). This is general information, not financial advice.
Independence statement. yourbestcards.com is published by ByTheMath. No card issuer can pay to appear in or move up our rankings, or to influence how we construct our scoring methodology, and commissions, if any, never change a score. This site shows Google ads, and links marked “Partner” may earn us a commission at no cost to you. See our Affiliate & Ads Disclosure. Ranked by math. Not by margin.