Canada · October 2026
Best RBC Avion Rewards credit cards in Canada
Cards that earn RBC Avion Rewards, ranked by estimated net annual value (points valued at 1.4¢ CAD each). All amounts are in Canadian dollars.
9 rbc avion rewards cards ranked
Earn Avion points: 3 per $1 on groceries, gas, dining, food delivery, rideshare, streaming and more, 1 per $1 on other purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 3 pts · gas 3 pts · dining 3 pts
- Annual fee
- $48 (Annual fee rebated for students/age 24 and under with RBC Advantage Banking for Students; additional card $0)
- Est. net value / yr
- $775
- Welcome offer
- Up to 28,000 Avion points: 7,000 on approval, 14,000 when you spend $1,500 in first 6 months, 7,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 4, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn Avion points: 1.5 per $1 on groceries, gas, rideshare, streaming and more, 1 per $1 on other purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 1.5 pts · gas 1.5 pts
- Annual fee
- $0 (Additional card $0)
- Est. net value / yr
- $496
- Welcome offer
- Up to 14,000 Avion points: 7,000 on approval plus 7,000 when you spend $500 in first 3 months. Apply by Nov 4, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Charged in U.S. dollars to avoid daily currency fluctuations, earning 1 Avion point per US$1 on qualifying purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts
- Est. net value / yr
- $420
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on net purchases up to $75,000 per year, with airport lounge access via Visa Airport Companion.
Earn: base 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $175 (First year fee waiver with offer; additional card $75 (max 9))
- Est. net value / yr
- $350
- Welcome offer
- Up to 100,000 Avion points plus first-year fee waiver: 25,000 on approval, 20,000 on first purchase, 20,000 at $5,000 in 3 months, 35,000 at $15,000 in 6 months
- Purchase rate
- 19.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on travel purchases and 1 point per $1 on everything else; redeem on any airline at fixed-points pricing or 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $313
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on net purchases; points can be pooled with personal Avion cards.
Earn: base 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (First year annual fee waived with offer; additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- 35,000 Avion points upon approval plus first-year annual fee waived
- Purchase rate
- 19.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Unsecured line of credit with a credit card: earn 1 Avion point per $2 spent; purchase rate from Prime + 2.9% to 11.9%.
Earn: base 0.5 pts
- Annual fee
- $0 (Additional card $0 (max 1); up to 2 cards per company)
- Est. net value / yr
- $210
- Purchase rate
- From Prime + 2.9% to 11.9%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on all purchases, with double redemption value on business and first-class tickets and 6 lounge passes per year.
Earn: base 1.25 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $399 (Additional card $99)
- Est. net value / yr
- $126
- Welcome offer
- Up to 100,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 45,000 anniversary bonus; plus 6 lounge passes. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.
How these cards are ranked
Rankings are by the numbers only: no issuer can pay to be listed, left out or ranked higher. For rewards cards we estimate net annual value in Canadian dollars: rewards earned on a reference household budget of $30,000 a year ($8,400 groceries, $3,600 dining, $2,400 gas, $3,600 travel, $12,000 everything else) at the earn rate the issuer states for each category, with points valued at the cents-per-point on our Canadian point values page, minus the annual fee. Welcome bonuses are shown separately and not counted. A card whose issuer page does not state an earn rate is not given a value. Every figure was read on the issuer’s own website; see our Canada methodology.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best rbc avion rewards credit card in Canada?
By our ranking rule, RBC ION+ Visa from RBC Royal Bank currently ranks first at an estimated $775 net a year. The right card depends on your own spending, so check the issuer’s terms before applying.
How do you calculate the ranking?
We estimate rewards on a reference budget of $30,000 a year, value points at the cents per point on our Canadian point values page, and subtract the annual fee. Welcome bonuses are not included.
Are these cards available in Quebec?
Availability can differ by province. Each card page shows whether the issuer states that it is offered in Quebec; where the issuer does not say, we show “not stated”.
Do I need a minimum income?
Many rewards cards state a minimum personal or household income. Each card shows the figure the issuer states, or “not stated”.
More Canadian card guides
- All cards
- Cash back
- Travel
- No annual fee
- Low interest
- Balance transfer
- Student
- Secured & rebuild
- Business
- No FX fee
- Groceries
- Gas
- Affinity Rewards
- Collabria Flex Rewards
- Aeroplan
- Amex Membership Rewards (Canada)
- BMO Rewards
- CIBC Aventura
- Meridian Rewards
- Scene+
- Vancity Rewards
- Canadian point values
- Cards by issuer
- Cross-border cards & points







