Ranked by math. Ads and any paid links never change the order · card terms verified at the issuer, dated · how we’re funded →

Canada · October 2026

Best secured and credit-building credit cards in Canada

Secured and credit-builder cards, ranked by lowest annual fee, then lowest purchase rate. Rewards are not the point of these cards. All amounts are in Canadian dollars.

6 secured & rebuild cards ranked

  1. Earn 5x BMO Rewards points for every $2 spent (2.5 points per $1) on recurring bills, groceries, dining and takeout, plus up to 5,000 bonus points each year.

    Earn: base 0.5 pts · groceries 2.5 pts · dining 2.5 pts · everyday 0.5 pts

    Annual fee
    $0
    Purchase rate
    21.99%
    Balance transfers
    0.99% introductory rate on balance transfers for 9 months with 2% transfer fee (from BMO data file)
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  2. Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.

    Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts

    Annual fee
    $0
    Welcome offer
    Join and earn up to $280 in value with no annual fee
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  3. No-annual-fee student card with 90-day purchase protection and no rewards.

    Annual fee
    $0
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  4. #4

    MC1 Mastercard National Bank of Canada

    $0

    Simple no-fee starter card with no rewards, aimed at building credit; minimum credit limit $500.

    Annual fee
    $0
    Purchase rate
    20.99%
    Balance transfers
    22.49%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  5. #5

    mycredit Mastercard National Bank of Canada

    $0

    Earn up to 1% cashback on pre-authorized payments and restaurant purchases, with free mobile protection.

    Earn: dining 1%

    Annual fee
    $0
    Purchase rate
    20.99%
    Balance transfers
    22.49%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  6. #6

    Neo Mastercard Neo Financial

    $0

    Entry Neo card (traditional or secured credit limit, approval with any credit history) earning cashback at Neo partners and on gas and groceries, with credit-building tools via the optional Build membership.

    Annual fee
    $0 (No annual fee; secured option requires refundable security funds (from $50) and optional Build membership $9.99/month)
    Purchase rate
    19.99%-29.99% (Quebec 19.99%-24.99%)
    Foreign transaction fee
    3%

Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.

How these cards are ranked

Rankings are by the numbers only: no issuer can pay to be listed, left out or ranked higher. For rewards cards we estimate net annual value in Canadian dollars: rewards earned on a reference household budget of $30,000 a year ($8,400 groceries, $3,600 dining, $2,400 gas, $3,600 travel, $12,000 everything else) at the earn rate the issuer states for each category, with points valued at the cents-per-point on our Canadian point values page, minus the annual fee. Welcome bonuses are shown separately and not counted. A card whose issuer page does not state an earn rate is not given a value. Every figure was read on the issuer’s own website; see our Canada methodology.

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best secured & rebuild credit card in Canada?

By our ranking rule, BMO eclipse rise Visa Card from BMO currently ranks first. The right card depends on your own spending, so check the issuer’s terms before applying.

How do you calculate the ranking?

By the lowest annual fee, then by the lowest purchase rate.

Are these cards available in Quebec?

Availability can differ by province. Each card page shows whether the issuer states that it is offered in Quebec; where the issuer does not say, we show “not stated”.

Do I need a minimum income?

Many rewards cards state a minimum personal or household income. Each card shows the figure the issuer states, or “not stated”.

More Canadian card guides