Canada · personal card · National Bank of Canada
Platinum Mastercard review
Earn up to 2 National Bank rewards points per dollar spent, with travel insurance for trips of 10 days or less and mobile device insurance.

Key facts
- Issuer
- National Bank of Canada
- Network
- Mastercard
- Annual fee
- $70 (Reimbursed first year; second authorized card $35)
- Welcome offer
- Up to 35,000 points: 10,000 with payment protection insurance, 10,000 at $2,500 net purchases in 3 months, 15,000 at $10,000 net purchases by first anniversary; first-year fee reimbursed. Valid until Nov 4, 2026 (until November 4, 2026)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 22.49%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Insurance
- Travel insurance (trips up to 10 days); Mobile device insurance; Extended purchase protection
- Est. net value / yr
- $2 ($72 rewards − $70 fee)
- Points value
- National Bank À la carte Rewards at 1¢ CAD each
Rewards
Earn up to 2 National Bank rewards points per dollar spent, with travel insurance for trips of 10 days or less and mobile device insurance.
Earn rates the issuer states: travel 2 pts.
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on National Bank of Canada’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Rates/fees read from the product data embedded in the page (productPricing fields). FX fee not stated. Bonus requires minimum purchase and insurance products. Base rate not read. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.nbc.ca/personal/help-centre/credit-card/fees-rates-limits/fees-foreign-currency-credit-card.html
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the Platinum Mastercard?
$70 (Reimbursed first year; second authorized card $35), as read on National Bank of Canada’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the Platinum Mastercard?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the Platinum Mastercard?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More National Bank of Canada cards
Earn up to 1% cashback on gas, groceries and online purchases while supporting the Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation.
Earn: groceries 1% · gas 1%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $108
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- #2
Business Line Mastercard National Bank of Canada
Combines a line of credit with a credit card: financing up to $10,000 at prime plus 5%; no rewards.
- Annual fee
- $50
- Purchase rate
- Prime + 5%
- Balance transfers
- Prime + 5%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
- #3
Business Mastercard National Bank of Canada
Basic business card with no annual fee and no rewards; reduced-rate option of 14.5% for a $30 annual fee.
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee for primary and additional cards; reduced-rate option $30 fee at 14.5%)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99% (14.5% with $30 annual fee)
- Balance transfers
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
Earn up to 1.5% cashback on gas, groceries and online purchases.
Earn: groceries 1.5% · gas 1.5%
- Annual fee
- $30
- Est. net value / yr
- $132
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Balance transfers
- 22.49%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



