Canada · personal card · RBC Royal Bank
RBC U.S. Dollar Visa Gold review
Charged in U.S. dollars to avoid daily currency fluctuations, earning 1 Avion point per US$1 on qualifying purchases.
Key facts
- Issuer
- RBC Royal Bank
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- Not stated
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- Not stated
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Insurance
- Travel accident; trip cancellation and interruption; flight delay; car rental coverage (as the page lists)
- Est. net value / yr
- $420 ($420 rewards − $0 fee)
- Points value
- RBC Avion Rewards at 1.4¢ CAD each
Rewards
Charged in U.S. dollars to avoid daily currency fluctuations, earning 1 Avion point per US$1 on qualifying purchases.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 1 pts.
Perks
Partner offers from Petro-Canada, Rexall and DoorDash; Avion Rewards access; eligible members can convert Avion points incl. WestJet
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on RBC Royal Bank’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: USD-denominated: annual_fee_cad field holds the fee in USD (set to null here; USD fee in annual_fee_note). Page says it saves on foreign exchange fees but gives no percentage; fx_fee_pct null. Income minimum and Quebec availability not on page read.
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the RBC U.S. Dollar Visa Gold?
RBC Royal Bank’s page did not state an annual fee when we read it.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the RBC U.S. Dollar Visa Gold?
The issuer’s page did not state a foreign currency conversion fee when we read it; check the cardholder agreement.
What income do I need for the RBC U.S. Dollar Visa Gold?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More RBC Royal Bank cards
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on travel purchases and 1 point per $1 on everything else; redeem on any airline at fixed-points pricing or 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $313
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on all purchases, with double redemption value on business and first-class tickets and 6 lounge passes per year.
Earn: base 1.25 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $399 (Additional card $99)
- Est. net value / yr
- $126
- Welcome offer
- Up to 100,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 45,000 anniversary bonus; plus 6 lounge passes. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn Avios: 3 per $1 on British Airways purchases, 2 per $1 on dining and food delivery, 1 per $1 on everything else; 10% off British Airways flights and a spend-based companion voucher.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 3 pts
- Annual fee
- $165 (Additional card $75)
- Est. net value / yr
- $591
- Welcome offer
- 50,000 bonus Avios when you spend $6,000 within first 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 20.50%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



