Ranked by math. Ads and any paid links never change the order · card terms verified at the issuer, dated · how we’re funded →

Canada · personal card · RBC Royal Bank

RBC Avion Visa Platinum review

Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.

RBC Avion Visa Platinum

Key facts

Issuer
RBC Royal Bank
Network
Visa
Annual fee
$120 (Additional card $50)
Welcome offer
Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026 (until November 25, 2026)
Purchase rate
20.99%
Cash advance rate
22.99%
Foreign transaction fee
2.5%
Minimum personal income
Not stated
Minimum household income
Not stated
Available in Quebec
Not stated
Insurance
Travel accident; Trip cancellation; Mobile device; and more
Est. net value / yr
$300 ($420 rewards − $120 fee)
Points value
RBC Avion Rewards at 1.4¢ CAD each

Rewards

Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.

Earn rates the issuer states: base 1 pts · travel 1 pts.

Perks

Fixed-points flight pricing; Avion points never expire

How we put this page together

Every figure here was read on RBC Royal Bank’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: FX fee not on page. Listed in RBC student/newcomer cards. Income minimum not stated. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.rbcroyalbank.com/cards/cardapp/_assets-custom/pdf/avion_p.pdf

Frequently asked questions

What is the annual fee on the RBC Avion Visa Platinum?

$120 (Additional card $50), as read on RBC Royal Bank’s website on October 7, 2026.

Is there a foreign transaction fee on the RBC Avion Visa Platinum?

The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.

What income do I need for the RBC Avion Visa Platinum?

The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.

More RBC Royal Bank cards

  1. #1

    RBC Avion Visa Infinite RBC Royal Bank

    Net $313/yr

    Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on travel purchases and 1 point per $1 on everything else; redeem on any airline at fixed-points pricing or 100 points = $1.

    Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1.25 pts

    Annual fee
    $120 (Additional card $50)
    Est. net value / yr
    $313
    Welcome offer
    Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
    Purchase rate
    20.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  2. #2

    RBC Avion Visa Infinite Privilege RBC Royal Bank

    Net $126/yr

    Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on all purchases, with double redemption value on business and first-class tickets and 6 lounge passes per year.

    Earn: base 1.25 pts · travel 1.25 pts

    Annual fee
    $399 (Additional card $99)
    Est. net value / yr
    $126
    Welcome offer
    Up to 100,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 45,000 anniversary bonus; plus 6 lounge passes. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
    Purchase rate
    20.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  3. #3

    RBC British Airways Visa Infinite RBC Royal Bank

    Net $591/yr

    Earn Avios: 3 per $1 on British Airways purchases, 2 per $1 on dining and food delivery, 1 per $1 on everything else; 10% off British Airways flights and a spend-based companion voucher.

    Earn: base 1 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 3 pts

    Annual fee
    $165 (Additional card $75)
    Est. net value / yr
    $591
    Welcome offer
    50,000 bonus Avios when you spend $6,000 within first 90 days
    Purchase rate
    20.50%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  4. #4

    RBC Avion Visa Business RBC Royal Bank

    Net $300/yr

    Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on net purchases; points can be pooled with personal Avion cards.

    Earn: base 1 pts

    Annual fee
    $120 (First year annual fee waived with offer; additional card $50)
    Est. net value / yr
    $300
    Welcome offer
    35,000 Avion points upon approval plus first-year annual fee waived
    Purchase rate
    19.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%

Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.