Canada · personal card · RBC Royal Bank
RBC Cash Back Preferred World Elite Mastercard review
Unlimited cash back: 3% on groceries, dining, food delivery, gas, EV charging, rideshare, transit, streaming and gaming, 1% on everything else.

Key facts
- Issuer
- RBC Royal Bank
- Network
- Mastercard
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Welcome offer
- 15% extra cash back on first $2,000 spend for 3 months. Apply by Feb 2, 2027 (until February 2, 2027)
- Purchase rate
- 21.99%
- Cash advance rate
- 22.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- $80,000
- Minimum household income
- $150,000
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Insurance
- Out of Province/Country Emergency Medical; Flight Delay; Delayed Baggage; Mobile Device; Auto Rental Collision/Loss Damage Waiver; Purchase Security and Extended Warranty
- Est. net value / yr
- $468 ($588 rewards − $120 fee)
Rewards
Unlimited cash back: 3% on groceries, dining, food delivery, gas, EV charging, rideshare, transit, streaming and gaming, 1% on everything else.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 1% · groceries 3% · gas 3% · dining 3%. No cap stated; redeem by phone at $25 minimum or auto-credited each January
Perks
Mastercard World Elite benefits; partner offers
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on RBC Royal Bank’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: FX fee not on page. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.rbcroyalbank.com/cards/cardapp/_assets-custom/pdf/cashback_pref.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the RBC Cash Back Preferred World Elite Mastercard?
$120 (Additional card $50), as read on RBC Royal Bank’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the RBC Cash Back Preferred World Elite Mastercard?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the RBC Cash Back Preferred World Elite Mastercard?
The issuer states a minimum personal income of $80,000 or a minimum household income of $150,000.
More RBC Royal Bank cards
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on travel purchases and 1 point per $1 on everything else; redeem on any airline at fixed-points pricing or 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $313
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1.25 Avion points per $1 on all purchases, with double redemption value on business and first-class tickets and 6 lounge passes per year.
Earn: base 1.25 pts · travel 1.25 pts
- Annual fee
- $399 (Additional card $99)
- Est. net value / yr
- $126
- Welcome offer
- Up to 100,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 45,000 anniversary bonus; plus 6 lounge passes. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Avion point per $1 on all purchases; redeem for flights on any airline, hotels and more at 100 points = $1.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 (Additional card $50)
- Est. net value / yr
- $300
- Welcome offer
- Up to 70,000 Avion points: 35,000 on approval, 20,000 when you spend $5,000 in first 6 months, 15,000 anniversary bonus. Apply by Nov 25, 2026
- Purchase rate
- 20.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn Avios: 3 per $1 on British Airways purchases, 2 per $1 on dining and food delivery, 1 per $1 on everything else; 10% off British Airways flights and a spend-based companion voucher.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 3 pts
- Annual fee
- $165 (Additional card $75)
- Est. net value / yr
- $591
- Welcome offer
- 50,000 bonus Avios when you spend $6,000 within first 90 days
- Purchase rate
- 20.50%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



