Ranked by math. Ads and any paid links never change the order · card terms verified at the issuer, dated · how we’re funded →

Canada · personal card · Scotiabank

Scotiabank Scene+ Visa Card (for students) review

Earn 1 Scene+ point per $1 on all purchases, 2 points at Sobeys/Safeway/IGA-type grocers, Home Hardware and Cineplex, and 1 point on eligible travel (plus 3 extra on Expedia bookings).

Scotiabank Scene+ Visa Card (for students)

Key facts

Issuer
Scotiabank
Network
Visa
Annual fee
$0 (Supplementary cards $0)
Welcome offer
Up to 5,000 bonus Scene+ points: 2,500 at $250 and 2,500 more at $1,000 spend in first 3 months. Open account Jul 2 to Nov 1, 2026 (until November 1, 2026)
Purchase rate
21.99%
Cash advance rate
22.99%
Foreign transaction fee
2.5%
Minimum personal income
Not stated
Minimum household income
Not stated
Available in Quebec
Not stated
Est. net value / yr
$384 ($384 rewards − $0 fee)
Points value
Scene+ at 1¢ CAD each

Rewards

Earn 1 Scene+ point per $1 on all purchases, 2 points at Sobeys/Safeway/IGA-type grocers, Home Hardware and Cineplex, and 1 point on eligible travel (plus 3 extra on Expedia bookings).

Earn rates the issuer states: base 1 pts · groceries 2 pts · travel 1 pts. Up to 4 points per $1 on hotels/car rentals via Scene+ Travel

Perks

Up to 10c/L at Shell with linked card; Avis/Budget discounts; Scotia SelectPay

How we put this page together

Every figure here was read on Scotiabank’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Insurance package, Quebec availability not fully read. FX fee not stated. Student version. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.scotiabank.com/ca/en/personal/credit-cards/fees.html

Frequently asked questions

What is the annual fee on the Scotiabank Scene+ Visa Card (for students)?

$0 (Supplementary cards $0), as read on Scotiabank’s website on October 7, 2026.

Is there a foreign transaction fee on the Scotiabank Scene+ Visa Card (for students)?

The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.

What income do I need for the Scotiabank Scene+ Visa Card (for students)?

The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.

More Scotiabank cards

  1. #1

    Scotiabank American Express Card Scotiabank

    Net $528/yr

    Earn 3 Scene+ points per $1 at Sobeys-type grocers, 2 on dining, other groceries, entertainment, gas, transit and streaming, and 1 on everything else.

    Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 3 pts · gas 2 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 1 pts

    Annual fee
    $0 (Supplementary cards $0)
    Est. net value / yr
    $528
    Welcome offer
    Up to 10,000 bonus Scene+ points: 2,500 at $250 and 7,500 more at $1,000 spend in first 3 months. Open account May 1 to Nov 1, 2026
    Purchase rate
    21.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  2. Earn 3 Scene+ points per $1 at Sobeys-type grocers, 2 on dining, other groceries, entertainment, gas, transit and streaming, and 1 on everything else.

    Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 3 pts · gas 2 pts · dining 2 pts · travel 1 pts

    Annual fee
    $0 (Supplementary cards $0)
    Est. net value / yr
    $528
    Welcome offer
    Up to 10,000 bonus Scene+ points: 2,500 at $250 and 7,500 more at $1,000 spend in first 3 months. Open account May 1 to Nov 1, 2026
    Purchase rate
    21.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%
  3. Earn 6 Scene+ points per $1 at Sobeys-type grocers, 5 on dining, food delivery, other groceries and entertainment, 3 on gas, transit and streaming, 1 on everything else; no foreign transaction fees.

    Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 6 pts · gas 3 pts · dining 5 pts · travel 1 pts

    Annual fee
    $120 (Waived with Ultimate Package chequing (first year with Preferred); supplementary cards $29)
    Est. net value / yr
    $792
    Welcome offer
    Up to 50,000 bonus Scene+ points: 30,000 at $2,000 in 3 months plus 20,000 at $7,500 in first year. Open account Jul 2 to Nov 1, 2026
    Purchase rate
    21.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    None
  4. Earn 1 Scene+ point per $1 on eligible business purchases at Home Hardware locations; interest from Prime + 4.99% to 10.99% with secured limits $5,000 to $500,000.

    Earn: base 1 pts

    Annual fee
    $0 (Supplementary cards $0)
    Est. net value / yr
    $300
    Welcome offer
    Up to 15,000 bonus Scene+ points when you spend $1,500 at Home Hardware in first 3 months. Open account Oct 1 to Nov 30, 2026
    Purchase rate
    From Prime + 4.99% to 10.99%
    Foreign transaction fee
    2.5%

Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.