Canada · personal card · CIBC
CIBC U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold Visa Card review
Charged in U.S. dollars with no currency conversion fees on USD purchases; earn 1 Aventura point per $1 on travel via the Rewards Centre and 1 point per $2 on other purchases.

Key facts
- Issuer
- CIBC
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- Not stated
- Welcome offer
- Up to 2,500 Aventura points (500 per activity within 60 days) and first-year annual fee rebate
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- $15,000
- Available in Quebec
- Yes
- Est. net value / yr
- $218 ($218 rewards − $0 fee)
- Points value
- CIBC Aventura at 1.3¢ CAD each
Rewards
Charged in U.S. dollars with no currency conversion fees on USD purchases; earn 1 Aventura point per $1 on travel via the Rewards Centre and 1 point per $2 on other purchases.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 0.5 pts · travel 1 pts.
Perks
No currency conversion fees on USD purchases
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on CIBC’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: USD-denominated card (fee and billing in US dollars). Purchase/cash APR not shown in static HTML (page placeholder filled by script) so left null. FX fee not stated. Fee in USD; page states no conversion fee for USD purchases but no percentage. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.cibc.com/content/dam/cibc-public-assets/personal-banking/credit-cards/documents/cibc-creditcard-annual-interest-rate-fees-11995-en.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the CIBC U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold Visa Card?
CIBC’s page did not state an annual fee when we read it.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the CIBC U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold Visa Card?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the CIBC U.S. Dollar Aventura Gold Visa Card?
The issuer states a minimum household income of $15,000.
More CIBC cards
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points per $1 on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $200 in value; includes 3,000 Adapta points at $1,000 spend in first 4 statements and roadside assistance membership
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $280 in value with no annual fee
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on Air Canada, gas, EV charging, groceries and all other purchases; earn points twice at Aeroplan partners.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 1 pts · gas 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $642
- Welcome offer
- Up to 10,000 Aeroplan points: 2,500 on first purchase, 2,500 at $1,500 in 4 statements, 5,000 anniversary bonus at $10,000 in 12 statements
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 2 Aeroplan points per $1 on Air Canada and Hyatt, 1.5 on travel, transportation, dining, shipping, internet, cable and phone, and 1 on other purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 1.5 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $180 (First year rebated; additional cards $50 each (up to 9))
- Est. net value / yr
- $577
- Welcome offer
- Up to $2,600 in value including up to 75,000 Aeroplan points
- Purchase rate
- As low as 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



