Canada · personal card · CIBC
CIBC Aventura Visa Card for Students review
Earn 1 Aventura point per $1 on travel via the CIBC Rewards Centre, gas, EV charging, groceries and drugstores, and on all purchases.

Key facts
- Issuer
- CIBC
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- $0
- Welcome offer
- Up to 12,500 Aventura points: 2,500 for five activities within 60 days plus 10,000 at $1,000 spend in first 4 statements
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Yes
- Est. net value / yr
- $390 ($390 rewards − $0 fee)
- Points value
- CIBC Aventura at 1.3¢ CAD each
Rewards
Earn 1 Aventura point per $1 on travel via the CIBC Rewards Centre, gas, EV charging, groceries and drugstores, and on all purchases.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 1 pts · groceries 1 pts · gas 1 pts · travel 1 pts.
Perks
Free SPC+ membership; free Skip+
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on CIBC’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Purchase/cash APR not shown in static HTML (page placeholder filled by script) so left null. FX fee not stated. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.cibc.com/content/dam/cibc-public-assets/personal-banking/credit-cards/documents/cibc-creditcard-annual-interest-rate-fees-11995-en.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the CIBC Aventura Visa Card for Students?
$0, as read on CIBC’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the CIBC Aventura Visa Card for Students?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the CIBC Aventura Visa Card for Students?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More CIBC cards
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points per $1 on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $200 in value; includes 3,000 Adapta points at $1,000 spend in first 4 statements and roadside assistance membership
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $280 in value with no annual fee
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on Air Canada, gas, EV charging, groceries and all other purchases; earn points twice at Aeroplan partners.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 1 pts · gas 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $642
- Welcome offer
- Up to 10,000 Aeroplan points: 2,500 on first purchase, 2,500 at $1,500 in 4 statements, 5,000 anniversary bonus at $10,000 in 12 statements
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 2 Aeroplan points per $1 on Air Canada and Hyatt, 1.5 on travel, transportation, dining, shipping, internet, cable and phone, and 1 on other purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 1.5 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $180 (First year rebated; additional cards $50 each (up to 9))
- Est. net value / yr
- $577
- Welcome offer
- Up to $2,600 in value including up to 75,000 Aeroplan points
- Purchase rate
- As low as 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



