Canada · personal card · CIBC
CIBC Aventura Gold Visa Card review
Earn 2 Aventura points per $1 on travel through the CIBC Rewards Centre, 1.5 on gas, EV charging, groceries and drugstores, and 1 on everything else.

Key facts
- Issuer
- CIBC
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- $139 (First year rebated for primary and up to three authorized users (additional cards $50))
- Welcome offer
- Up to $1,900 in value including 15,000 Aventura points at $5,000 spend in first 4 statements, annual fee rebate, 4 lounge visits and NEXUS rebate
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- $15,000
- Available in Quebec
- Yes
- Est. net value / yr
- $368 ($507 rewards − $139 fee)
- Points value
- CIBC Aventura at 1.3¢ CAD each
Rewards
Earn 2 Aventura points per $1 on travel through the CIBC Rewards Centre, 1.5 on gas, EV charging, groceries and drugstores, and 1 on everything else.
Earn rates the issuer states: base 1 pts · groceries 1.5 pts · gas 1.5 pts · travel 2 pts.
Perks
4 Visa Airport Companion lounge visits; NEXUS rebate; free Skip+
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on CIBC’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Purchase/cash APR not shown in static HTML (page placeholder filled by script) so left null. FX fee not stated. Headline value from card list; points figure from offer details. FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.cibc.com/content/dam/cibc-public-assets/personal-banking/credit-cards/documents/cibc-creditcard-annual-interest-rate-fees-11995-en.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the CIBC Aventura Gold Visa Card?
$139 (First year rebated for primary and up to three authorized users (additional cards $50)), as read on CIBC’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the CIBC Aventura Gold Visa Card?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the CIBC Aventura Gold Visa Card?
The issuer states a minimum household income of $15,000.
More CIBC cards
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points per $1 on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $200 in value; includes 3,000 Adapta points at $1,000 spend in first 4 statements and roadside assistance membership
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earns 1.5 Adapta points per $1 in your top three spend categories each month, 2 points on travel via CIBC by Expedia, and 1 point per $1 on everything else.
Earn: base 1 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $280
- Welcome offer
- Join and earn up to $280 in value with no annual fee
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on Air Canada, gas, EV charging, groceries and all other purchases; earn points twice at Aeroplan partners.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 1 pts · gas 1 pts · travel 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $0
- Est. net value / yr
- $642
- Welcome offer
- Up to 10,000 Aeroplan points: 2,500 on first purchase, 2,500 at $1,500 in 4 statements, 5,000 anniversary bonus at $10,000 in 12 statements
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Earn 2 Aeroplan points per $1 on Air Canada and Hyatt, 1.5 on travel, transportation, dining, shipping, internet, cable and phone, and 1 on other purchases.
Earn: base 1 pts · dining 1.5 pts · travel 2 pts
- Annual fee
- $180 (First year rebated; additional cards $50 each (up to 9))
- Est. net value / yr
- $577
- Welcome offer
- Up to $2,600 in value including up to 75,000 Aeroplan points
- Purchase rate
- As low as 12.99%
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



