Canada · personal card · Alterna Savings (Collabria Visa)
Alterna Visa Classic Card review
Low-rate Visa with a 13.99% fixed purchase rate and a basic insurance package; no points earned.

Key facts
- Issuer
- Alterna Savings (Collabria Visa)
- Network
- Visa
- Annual fee
- $20 ($20 annual fee)
- Purchase rate
- 13.99% fixed
- Cash advance rate
- 13.99%
- Balance transfers
- 0% for 9 months on balance transfers (terms apply)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
- Minimum personal income
- Not stated
- Minimum household income
- Not stated
- Available in Quebec
- Not stated
- Insurance
- Purchase Protection (90 days); Extended Warranty; Mobile Device Insurance
Perks
Hertz, Thrifty and Dollar rental discounts; Zero Liability
How we put this page together
Every figure here was read on Alterna Savings (Collabria Visa)’s own page on October 7, 2026; fields the page did not state are shown as “not stated” rather than estimated. The net value estimate uses the method on our Canada methodology. Card rules and your rights as a cardholder: FCAC. Note: Alterna Visa cards are issued by Collabria Financial Services (details read on collabriacreditcards.ca affiliate_alterna pages linked from alterna.ca/en/personal/borrowing/credit-cards). Alterna page promo: 0% balance transfer for 9 months, first-year annual fee rebate and up to 10,000 Flex Rewards welcome points on eligible Visa Infinite, Cash Back Visa Infinite and Visa Infinite Business cards (terms apply). FX fee read on issuer document: https://www.collabriacreditcards.ca/webres/File/Product/App%20Disclosures%20Nov%202%202020/Important%20Notice%20App%20Disclosure.pdf
Frequently asked questions
What is the annual fee on the Alterna Visa Classic Card?
$20 ($20 annual fee), as read on Alterna Savings (Collabria Visa)’s website on October 7, 2026.
Is there a foreign transaction fee on the Alterna Visa Classic Card?
The issuer states a 2.5% foreign currency conversion fee.
What income do I need for the Alterna Visa Classic Card?
The issuer’s page did not state a minimum income when we read it.
More Alterna Savings (Collabria Visa) cards
Earns 4 points per $1 (4%) on grocery and sustainable transit, 2 on select recurring bills, digital streaming and dining, and 1 on other purchases, redeemable as cash back.
Earn: base 1% · groceries 4% · dining 2% · everyday 1%
- Annual fee
- $120 ($120 annual fee; $50 additional card)
- Est. net value / yr
- $468
- Welcome offer
- 0% balance transfer 9 months, first-year annual fee rebate and up to 10,000 Flex Rewards welcome points (terms apply)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99% fixed
- Balance transfers
- 0% for 9 months on balance transfers (terms apply)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
No-fee card earning 1 point per $1 (1%) on grocery, gas, sustainable transit, select recurring bills and digital streaming, and 0.5 points per $1 on all other purchases, redeemable as account credit.
Earn: base 0.5% · groceries 1% · gas 1% · everyday 0.5%
- Annual fee
- $0 (No annual fee)
- Est. net value / yr
- $204
- Purchase rate
- 20.99% fixed
- Balance transfers
- 0% for 9 months on balance transfers (terms apply)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Low-rate rewards card earning 1 point per $1 on everyday purchases with a 12.99% fixed purchase rate.
Earn: base 1 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $50 ($50 annual fee; $10 additional card)
- Est. net value / yr
- $250
- Purchase rate
- 12.99% fixed
- Balance transfers
- 0% for 9 months on balance transfers (terms apply)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Premium travel-oriented card earning 3 points per $1 on grocery, 2 on dining and entertainment and 1 on everything else, with travel insurance.
Earn: base 1 pts · groceries 3 pts · dining 2 pts · everyday 1 pts
- Annual fee
- $120 ($120 annual fee; $50 additional card)
- Est. net value / yr
- $384
- Welcome offer
- 0% balance transfer 9 months, first-year annual fee rebate and up to 10,000 Flex Rewards welcome points (terms apply)
- Purchase rate
- 20.99% fixed
- Balance transfers
- 0% for 9 months on balance transfers (terms apply)
- Foreign transaction fee
- 2.5%
Rates, fees and offers are shown as we read them on each issuer’s own website on the date shown, in Canadian dollars, and can change at any time. Confirm current terms with the issuer before applying. General information, not financial advice. Partner links, where they exist, never change the order. Affiliate disclosure. Card rules and consumer protections: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.



